Young Entrepreneurs

By: Rihana Booker

NAIL TRENDS! Milayah Sanders said, “I grew up around artists; everyone in my family has a business surrounding some form of art.”

We reached out to small businesses in our school here at East Wake High to learn more about our students’ personal lives a little bit more and to support their careers and businesses as a community and school. Senior Milayah Sanders especially has a really successful business and the students here and as well as in North Carolina support her and her arts! At seven years old, Sanders would do simple nails around her neighborhood just for fun. Sanders then realized that this was a hobby she actually enjoyed doing and decided to invest into it and went to school for it as well.

THIS IS ART! Senior Milayah Sanders said, “I’ll be opening up my one stop for nails, toes, hair and aesthetics in August 2024, and continuing to live freely but responsibly achieving all my goals one by one. You only got one life to live, you might as well turn up.”

Sanders said, “My inspiration is my Kreations By Kiki and my family. Kiki taught me a lot about nails and told me to keep pushing, even through the difficult parts of forming my nail business and when I wanted to give up. I say my family as well, because whatever I needed I got it; the sky was really the limit for me and they never let me give up as well. They kept me in tune with events, workshops, schooling and more around my craft.” Sanders’ favorite part about having customers is having the ability to put a smile on their faces because you never know what someone is going through, as well as being able to be all my clients safe space to come to for anything. “They’re not just my clients; they’re my family,” said Sanders.  

Miliyah Sanders has such a lovely nail business and continues to express and add more to her craft within multiple beauty genres. She focuses on her art, school, future, and career. This is a great thing to have as a senior who is about to be into the real world of life and slowly but fastly learning about new things of life. Everyone should have a taste of entrepreneurship and as well as have their own business. We can all support each other and have our own version of what we call a business and create a peaceful environment and community like Milayah Sanders.

Leave a comment